12 Drinks of Christmas 2012 – Drink 1

Out enjoying the holiday festivities, so apologies for not getting this up earlier.  The rest should be at a more reasonable hour of the day.  We hope everyone had a Merry Christmas!

The 12 drinks this year are a bit heavier on the holiday spirits than last year so we’re kicking off with one of those in case you’re in town between now and the new year and thinking about what you might like to try.

I had read on the Disney Food Blog that there were going to be additional offerings at the Germany holiday beverage stand this year so we knew we were going to want to stop by to check that out.   Along with the Gluhwein ]that we had tried last year,  there is an apple liqueur, and something called William’s Punch.

To be honest, I was a little concerned that the cast member at the stand had described it as eggnog as I don’t care for eggnog at all.  While the color and consistency were similar to eggnog, we were happy to find that the similarities to that beverage (at least to any version we have tried) seemed to end there.

Williams Punch 1

William’s Punch. Hot, creamy, and delicious.

Like the Gluhwein, William’s Punch is served warm.   Unlike the Gluhwein, they top it with a fair amount of whipped cream and sprinkle some nutmeg on top.

Williams Punch 2

William’s Punch is topped off with whipped cream and nutmeg.

It took a couple sips to decide whether I liked it or not, but ultimately I decided I do like the drink.   It was just different than anything I had ever tasted before and for some reason, I couldn’t quite get a handle on what exactly what the flavors were in my glass.  My companion had an easier time with it, declaring that to him, it tasted like “a liquid version of an apple pie.”  I guess that is close enough, even if it still doesn’t quite cover what I was tasting.  Regardless, it’s a good holiday drink, especially for colder weather, and an interesting alternative to an adult hot chocolate in my opinion.  I can definitely see myself having another glass of this next year if they are offering it.  I also think I’d like to  try it over ice sometime and see which way I’d prefer it.

William’s Punch should be available at the Prost stand in Germany through the end of the year.  Tomorrow, we’ll stop by Disney’s Hollywood Studios for one of their holiday offerings.

2 thoughts on “12 Drinks of Christmas 2012 – Drink 1

  1. Pingback: Merry Linkmas from 2 Disney Elves!

  2. Pingback: Mouse Bites for December 30, 2012 | Eating WDW

Leave a Reply

