12 Drinks of Christmas – Drink 6

Grandma's Picnic Punch

The 6th Drink of Christmas - Grandma's Picnic Punch

Several years ago, there was a bar called the “Catwalk” at the Studios.  It was a nice little out-of-the-way place with comfy couches and movie “props” as decor where you could escape the crowds and have a drink.   It also overlooked the old Soundstage restaurant, which means that when Bear in the Big Blue House moved in, the Catwalk’s fate was sealed.   It operated sporadically for a little while after BITBBH opened, but was ultimately closed down.

With the Catwalk gone, my second favorite place to get a drink at the Studios quickly became my first.  That would be the Tune In Lounge, which adjoins the Prime Time Cafe.   We stopped by there on Christmas Eve afternoon in search of the 6th Drink of Christmas.

I looked over the menu a couple of times and decided to give Grandma’s Picnic Punch (Skyy Vodka, Peach Schnapps, Creme de Cassis, light lemonade, and pineapple juice) a try.  Now, I have a confession to make.  I am a Chambord junkie, so if a drink has Chambord in it, I’m probably going to like it.   Well, Creme de Cassis is often used in cocktails as a “poor man’s” substitute for Chambord,  so I was expecting I’d be a fan of this one.

The first thing I noticed about Grandma’s Picnic Punch was its great taste.  It was sweet and all the fruity flavors blended wonderfully.  It tasted just like a fruit punch.   The second thing I noticed, and this may just be a result of the bartender I had that day, was that this punch also packs a punch!   I was honestly surprised at how quickly I felt it.   A drink that tastes nothing like alcohol and has a good kick?  Yes please!

As for my drinking companion, he does not have the attachment to Chambord that I do.   But he still liked it quite a bit.   In fact, we both enjoyed it so much, that we each ended up getting a second one to go.   This makes Grandma’s Picnic Punch the only drink among the 12 Drinks of Christmas that I actually ordered two of.   Needless to say, we’ll be stopping by the Tune In Lounge to visit Grandma again real soon.

Tomorrow, we’re heading out of the parks to Downtown Disney for the 7th (and 8th) Drinks of Christmas.

2 thoughts on “12 Drinks of Christmas – Drink 6

  1. I’m the person who you ran into during this “drinking session” with my kids and husband at Prime Time. I’m enjoying your blog very much. We ran out of time to get a Santa’s Helper but thanks to your at-home recipe, we will fix up a few soon! Thanks and it was great meeting you!!!

Leave a Reply

