Five Favorites

One question I seem to get a lot is “What is your favorite drink at Walt Disney World?”  I honestly have no one overall favorite because there are so many drinks at the Walt Disney World Resort that I enjoy.  But I do have my favorites from various locations around property so I thought I would share some of those.

Here are five of my favorite drinks from five different locations, in no particular order.

1. Pina Colada – Tambu Lounge, Disney’s Polynesian Resort

I’m not sure what it is about the pina coladas at the Tambu, but they are the best pina coladas I have ever had.   I don’t even order pina coladas anywhere else anymore because they just do not compare.  I suppose it doesn’t hurt that they are served in a cool tiki glass either.

Official description:  It’s a pina colada – rum and pina colada mix (cream of coconut, pineapple juice) – only better.

2. Blood Orange Margarita – La Cava del Tequila, Epcot

La Cava del Tequila.  Mecca of the margarita faithful.  The margarita flavors of  here run from the usual (classic) to the unusual (cucumber, jalapeno), but the Blood Orange is my personal favorite.

Official description: El Mayor premium silver Tequila, orange liqueur, sweet-tart mix of blood orange juice and hibiscus syrup, topped with wild berry foam served on the rocks

3.  Welsh Dragon – Rose and Crown Pub, Epcot

Is this drink beautiful or what?  Before even tasting a drop, I was struck by the gorgeous combination of colors.  But a beautiful drink is useless if it doesn’t taste good. Fortunately, the Welsh Dragon does not suffer from that problem.

Official description: Peach Schnapps, Melon Liqueur, Creme de Menthe, Orange Juice, and Pineapple Juice.

4. Grandma’s Picnic Punch – Tune In Lounge, Disney’s Hollywood Studios

Grandma’s Picnic Punch has the distinction of being the most non-alcoholic tasting, alcoholic drink I have ever tasted.  (Really, it does make sense.)  For those who want a cocktail that doesn’t taste like liquor but has a good kick to it, this is the one.

Official description: Grandma concocted a wonderful drink for the family picnic—Skyy Vodka, Peach Schnapps, Crème de Cassis, Light Lemonade, and Pineapple Juice.

5. Harambe Cooler – Dawa Bar, Animal Kingdom

Why is the rum gone?  I’m pretty sure it’s because it all ended up in this drink.   This is a rum lover’s dream.

Official description: Starr African Rum and Myer’s Original Dark Rum mixed with our Pangani Punch.

_____

So those are five my favorites, but certainly not all of my favorites.   What about you? What are some of your favorites?

(And maybe next month, I’ll do this with beer.)

2 thoughts on “Five Favorites

  1. I too enjoy the Blood Orange margarita. Almost everything at La Cava Del Tequila is a winner, but the Blood Orange, Cucumber, and Pomegranate are my absolute favorites.

    Elsewhere in EPCOT, I think that the frozen Italian Margherita served at the Tutto Italia kiosk is vastly underrated. The combination of grappa, limoncello and lime juice is delicious and packs a punch. I like to make an on-the-rocks version of this one at home.

    On Disney’s standard bar and lounge menu, I found that the Pear Martini (Hendrick’s, Glenfiddich 12, pear and agave nectars, and lemon juice) is a surprising winner. It’s a little sweet and syrupy, but I’m a fan of that type of drink.

  2. I Love your picks – I’ve been to everyone of them. The Pina Colada from Polynesian got me hooked on ‘bar hopping’ the Disney resorts. Perhaps it’s time I’ve had another!

Leave a Reply

